The Rainy Garden

The Rainy Garden

sweet afternoons

20140610-191706-69426670.jpg

As I stepped out onto the patio today, I let a brief cooling breeze sweep over me. In the moment, it was calm and sweet. I let the dog out to do her “business” in the garden and took a long sip from my hot coffee. Seconds later, the sky filled with gray and the rain began to fall on my cheeks.

Some moments, simple as they may be, stick with you. This was one of those. I felt inspired to take my little moment and try and capture it in a children’s illustration. The more I dig into the world of illustrating for children, the more I am drawn in. I’m challenged to play, let go, and use my imagination.

After I finished this pencil sketch in the afternoon, I returned to the garden and took a picture of where I was standing earlier. I thought it would be…

View original post 14 more words

Leave a Reply

