open mind, full heart

open mind, full heart

scribblechic

My day today began with a meeting, a discussion with a member of my daughter’s educational team who shares a special history with me. Six years ago we met across a large table in a formal meeting where several therapists and educators evaluated my son’s educational needs. This morning we met casually, seated at a much smaller table perched in child size chairs to discuss my daughter’s educational needs. We could have just as easily been old friends meeting for coffee and sharing stories about our children; her smile is a source of encouragement and humor.

Recently I watched a friend begin her own journey into the language of special needs in an elementary school setting. Her child’s challenges differ from my children’s, but my advice is simple: begin with an open mind. Even in moments of uncertainty and frustration, I try to open my mind to explore different perspectives…

View original post 147 more words

Leave a Reply

