Thinking Aloud: Happy New Year!

Thinking Aloud: Happy New Year!

Not What You Might Think

Sept. 25,  2014 by Darius 

Happy New Year to all my Jewish readers!  In honor of Rosh Hashanah, I thought it would be interesting to take a look at some other New Year’s celebrations around the world.

In China, the Lunar New Year (late January or early February) is celebrated with parades, lanterns, costumes, and firecrackers.  It was one of my favorite events in the year when I was younger. 🙂  Tet, the Vietnamese New Year (made famous by the so-called Tet Offensive in 1968), is celebrated the same time as the Chinese Lunar New Year.

In Iran and a number of other countries near Iran, the New Year, known as Nowruz, is the first day of spring (about March 21).  Nowruz is celebrated at the equinox.  Depending on the country, Nowruz is celebrated over twelve days and involves visits with family and friends, new clothes, and special foods.

In…

View original post 171 more words

2 thoughts on “Thinking Aloud: Happy New Year!

  1. Dear Mihran, You don’t know me, but I listened to the song you sent Amy Reese on Friday Flash Fiction in Word Press. This song is so magnificent and hauntingly beautiful! It is one of the most moving songs I’ve ever heard. I’m an old woman (65 almost) and the artwork during the video is luscious. You are TALENT! You are an absolutely wonderful artist and musician. If it’s all right with you, I forwarded your link to several of my friends if that’s ok. Thank you so very much for your song! Nan Claire Falkner

Leave a Reply

